ODP Championships
1997 Girls, 1998 Boys & 1998 Girls Fall Short In Their Title Quests

The Championships for the US Youth Soccer Olympic Development Program spotlight the future stars of United States soccer. State teams first compete in a regional event to determine which teams will vie for the top spot in the nation.

Three Illinois State Select Teams will competee for the National title in February at The Reach 11 Soccer Complex in Phoenix, AZ.

The 1997 Girls advanced to the National championship match, losing to Cal South 3-0 and finishing as 1997 National Finalists.

1997 Girls Illinois State Select Team
Coaches: Frank Mateus & Eddie Amaral
Madeleine Chalifoux (Champaign/Illinois Fusion)
Michele Chernesky (Wauconda/Sockers FC)
Kathryn  Coseglia (Willowbrook/Oakbrook SC)
Grace  Dunker  (Rockton/Sockers FC)
Karla Hernandez  (Chicago/Firebirds SC)
Emily Hess  (Batavia/Eclipse Select)
Amanda  Hoglund  (Spring Grove/Sockers FC)
Carly Hoke  (Lake Forest/ FC United)
Mariah  Katzenberger     (Freeport/Rockford Raptors)
Julia Kenney  (Evanston/Team Evanston)
Kelsey Kraft  (Oswego/Panthers SC)
Drew  Moulton   (Sycamore/Eclipse Select)
Claire Neibergall (Springfield/SLSG)
Elizabeth Parrilli  (St. Charles/Rockford Raptors)
Emily Scott  (Machesney Park/FCX)
Sophia Snyder  (Ottawa/Chicago Inter)
Jenna  Szczesny  (Hoffman Estates/FCX)
Emily Valentine (Rockford/ FCX)

In a hard fought match, the 1998 Boys and Cal South went the full-90 plus overtime without a winner so penalty kicks from the mark were needed to determine which team would advance to the National Chamionship. Unfortunately the team from the Land of Lincoln fell short in the PK shootout.

1998 Boys Illinois State Select Team
Coaches: Tony Kees & Jamie Martin
Tyler Anstrand  (Naperville/Ajax FC)
Luis Arreola  (Wheeling/ FC Athletico)
Dalton Bruso  (Bloomington/Illinois Fusion)
Jack Dilger  (Homer Glen/Southwest SC)
Jake Farley  (Plainfield/Chicago Fire YSC)
Hamada  Freese  (Edwardsville/Edwardsville SC)
Maxwell Graf (Aurora/Team Chicago)
Remy Hasinger  (Morton/Morton Blaze)
Michael Juarez  (Bloomington/Illinois Fusion)
Adam Masters   (Evanston/Team Evanston)
Sam McLachlan (Berwyn/Berwyn Blazers)
Dorian  Moreno  (Romeoville/Roadrunners SC)
Matthew Napolitano  (Bloomington/Illinois Fusion)
Mitchell Palmer  (Belleville/Gateway FC)
Christopher  Schwaiger  (Naperville/Galaxy SC)
Emerson  Wells (Bloomington/Chicago Fire YSC)
David  Young  (Grayslake/Libertyville FC 1974)
Arjun  Zutshi (Aurora/Chicago Fire Academy)

An opening round loss to Cal South knocked the 1998 Girls out of contention for a National title.

1998 Girls Illinois State Select Team
Coaches: Ryan Snyder & Jo Hearn
Emily Bollman  (Coal Valley/Moline United)
Paige Bourne (Lake Forest/FC United)
Alyssa Frazier   (Towanda/St Louis Scott Gallagher)
Ryan Gareis  (Naperville/Sockers FC)
Erin Johnston (Grayslake/Team Chicago)
Natalie  Joyce  (Lake Forest/FC United)
Amanda  Kowalski  (Arlington Heights/Eclipse Select)
Lauren  Long  (West Chicago/NSA)
Ashley Nensel  (Wauconda/Ela Elite)
Katia Novi   (Glenview/Sockers FC)
Olivia  Peters  (Glenview/FC United)
Shannon  Powers  (Gurnee/FC United)
Riley  Riggs  (Ingleside/Ela Elite)
Peyton  Roehnelt  (Germantown Hills/Illinois Fusion)
Samantha  Salay  (Glenview/Eclipse Select)
Eda Senger  (Lake In The Hills/Sockers FC)
Adrian Walker  (Lake Forest/FC United)
Madelyn  West  (Crystal Lake/FCX)

Follow the match  results here: http://tournaments.usyouthsoccer.org/events/2014-ODP-Championships/